Darynda Jones: Romantic Fantasy Series

Author Darynda Jones is a New York Times bestselling author who specializes in writing thrilling fantasy novels that are expertly balanced with romance and humor. Her work has earned several awards, including a RITA Award and a Golden Heart from the RWA (Romance Writers of America). Jones has always loved storytelling and writing since she was a child, and her first book in the internationally-recognized Charley Davidson series was published in 2011.

Jones currently lives in New Mexico (the Land of Enchantment) with her husband and 2 sons. Since 2011, she has released a variety of books in 4 unique series, which include the Betwixt & Between series, the Charley Davidson series, the Darklight trilogy, and the Sunshine Vicram series.

Below you’ll find more details about each book series and maybe you’ll find one that you’d like to read.

Betwixt & Between Series

Most people would be hesitant to accept a gift from a stranger, especially if it was something as strange and magnificent as a house. However, when recently-divorced Defiance Dyane is told that a complete stranger has left a home to her in Salem, Massachusetts, her curiosity gets the best of her. Defiance moves to Salem and is surprised to see that she seems to have inherited a castle: a worn-down and dirty castle, but a castle nonetheless. As she settles into her new residence, her neighbors begin stopping by to ask her for help and advice, much to her surprise. Who was the mysterious person who left Defiance the castle, and what do the locals think about Defiance?

Charley Davidson Series

Charlotte Davidson, who prefers to be called “Charley,” is a part-time private investigator who assists the police in murder investigations. Charley has the unique ability to contact the dead, as her official full-time job is working as the Grim Reaper in Albuquerque, New Mexico. However, being a Grim Reaper isn’t always difficult or sad; Charley’s sense of humor and relatable personality helps her guide dying spirits to “the other side” and delight readers along the way. If you’re into police investigations, paranormal elements, and a little romance, the Charley Davidson series will take you on a thrilling adventure!

Sunshine Vicram Series

When the reluctant but hardworking Sunshine Vicram was elected as sheriff to the tiny, sleepy town of Del Sol, New Mexico, she dreaded returning to the stifling heat and the boring job. However, things get even hotter when Del Sol gains national attention when a teenage girl goes missing and a kidnapper is on the run. Sunshine passionately gets to work on the case, but her investigations begin to lead her towards danger. Combined with reuniting with her old flame Levi, now a US Marshall, Sunshine is in for more excitement and adventure than she ever would have thought possible.

Darklight Series

16-year-old Lorelei McAlister’s parents disappeared around 10 years ago without a trace, but besides that mystery, her life as a high school sophomore is fairly normal. She lives with her grandparents, and all is going well until Lorelei starts to notice the quiet kid, Cameron, seems to be following her everywhere she goes. Just when Lorelei is about to confront her stalker, a new student arrives and develops a strange attraction to her as well. With 2 strange stalkers, who both seem to despise each other, Lorelei needs answers. Why is she the target of these weirdos, and what is so special about her?

Looking for free fantasy books on Kindle? See the fantasy section here.


Leave a Reply